Playing the waiting game.

I have been determined to not rest on my laurels this summer after a really enjoyable and busy time with the election at the end of this year. As a result I have spent lots of time seeking out work experience placements. Nowadays (and I suspect this has been the case for some time) you have to offer up your services for free in order for prospective employers to see if you are worth taking a punt on.

I have been exploring a variety of avenues ever since I returned home and I won’t lie it has been a somewhat frustrating time for me. The scary part of all of this is that I am on tenterhooks waiting to hear if I have been successful in receiving a work experience placement. I dread to think what I will be like in a years time when I am applying for hundreds of jobs in the hope that someone will notice the drive and commitment needed in me to succeed.

I have dreams and goals that I want to accomplish. Some of them realistic others more in the realms of ‘if I get really lucky’. All of this helps to drive me on even when I am sat in front of my laptop on a typically wet and windy English summer’s day waiting for an email or phone call.

I definitely need to find a distraction as my search for the perfect placement is bordering on the obsessive at times and it is driving me mad. I have been reading Gary Neville’s autobiography entitled ‘Red’. It is a fantastic read and with no disrespect to Gary an absolute steal at just a pound! Reading is good for me it allows me to navigate other people’s paths in life and see what the best and worst of their experiences have done to shape each character be it fictional or a real person.

I can see various similarities with myself and Neville, his attention to detail and need to better himself are just two of the qualities I see in myself. I will not pretend I am the finished article in any walk of life but I would like to think that you never are. The moment you start to think that way is the moment you give up on trying to be your version of the best at whatever it is you are trying to achieve. You are never too old to learn something new and there is a lot to be said for being proud of a good work ethic.

Attack the day
Attack the day

One thing I am certainly not proud of at the moment is my current physical state. I feel lethargic and run down. I put some of this down to stress about work and work experience but most of it is down to the bad habits I have allowed myself to get into. I sat up late last night planning a regime to follow in order to feel better about things this summer. Firstly I need to get out and do some exercise, I’d like for the weather to improve but it would appear that the jet stream has once again settled over this great isle and decided that a warm and sunny summer is not needed. So be it. ‘Get outside come wind rain or shine’ is the message I have been running over and over in my head of late and it is about time I started paying attention to it.

Right enough self medicating on here and pontificating about life and what it might bring over the coming weeks. Time to get out there and start making things happen. In the words of Gary Neville ‘Attack the day’!

Leave a Reply

