Beginnings and ends

The last couple of weeks have been frustrating due to a lack of Internet but there has been an almost uncanny and constant theme. It feels as though there are a continual stream of new things happening and for every one of these events there is an end to something else.

My parents returned from what my dad likes to call a couple of ‘geriatric gap years’. It is easy to see they are both a little apprehensive about returning home despite being pleased to see friends and family. After taking the plunge and living abroad I know from personal experience that it can be really tough coming home. It’s not that you don’t miss people it is just a sense of what you have left behind in a foreign land after building a new life for yourself.

The weather has been outstanding during the holiday and this has made the time I have shared with my friends at home all the more happy. As I returned to uni today I couldn’t help feel a twinge of regret that I wasn’t going to see certain people for while.

With regards to uni it is the beginning of the end of year two. This means a lot of assignment work, volunteer work and work experience to come in a very short space of time. It is amazing to think that I am nearly two thirds of the way through my time in higher education. I know it is a cliche but the time really has flown by and this time next year I will be feverishly looking for fulltime work whilst finishing off my final pieces of university work.

I have a lot to look forward to between now and then and I am determined to make the most of the time I have left. It is all starting to seem very real now and I can only hope that with some more hard work and a little luck along the way all of this will have been worth it.

This next bit might seem more political than it is really meant to but really it is just a summary of how sad modern day society can be; Recently a local institution that has been around longer than myself announced it could no longer afford to compete with the likes of Amazon and has been forced to close its doors at the end of the month after decades of successful trading. I would like to use this opportunity to thank those who have worked so hard to make the Forest Bookshop the awesome shop it has been. There is nothing quite like the level of personal service you get from small business and it is a great shame to see it go. There are still some amazing deals to be had from the stock that remains so please do go and say your farewells if you live locally.

At the same time there have been a few people opening and starting new businesses in the area of late and I would like to wish Laura Pugh, Stuart Jenkins and Justine Jones all the best with their respective new ventures. I know a lot of hard work and sacrifice is made when starting up and hope all the local businesses in the Forest of Dean prosper in the coming years.

Leave a Reply

