Technical hitches and shocks to the system

The back end of last week and the weekend saw the end of any self indulgence with regard to my time, at least for the time being. I have lots to think about and get on with in the coming weeks and months and I am looking forward to getting focused and producing good work and crossing the finish line that is the end of my second year at university.

That being said I was looking forward to Friday more than ever as I knew it would be the last time for a while that I would be able to do anything as extravagant as take time out for myself on weekends. They say all work and no play makes you a dull man but at the moment it is all I can focus on and to be honest I am really looking forward to it.

Friday took me on a trip down memory lane and to Bristol to see Less than Jake, an American ska band who I have enjoyed listening to since my early teenage years. There was lots of dancing and singing as you would expect and a huge amount of fun was had by all.

Saturday saw me catch up with a friend who I haven’t spent time with in years, he had been through a tough time and it was good to have been a helpful distraction. The weekend gave me a bit of an epiphany. As much as it is nice to be there for your friends and help them in any way you can you also have to make sure you take enough time for yourself. I am happy to take responsibility for my problems and I realise now that you can’t always get the help you are willing to give to others. Some people don’t have the time or inclination to help out as much as they may want to. It’s no ones fault it’s just life.

I have alluded to my workload in recent posts and many who are in full time employment might see that as a bit of a joke. University is fantastic. You acquire new skills, make great contacts and have the opportunity to meet important people. That said if you want a job relating to your degree when you graduate you have to be prepared to put in the hard yards and more often than not that means working for no pay.

The idea behind this blog is two fold. Firstly I can keep a collection of my thoughts and document them for myself and others to read. Secondly it gives potential employers an opportunity to read something written by me. I try and post at least once a week but I am aware that is not all that frequent. On top of this I contribute work to a couple of websites and this is something I really enjoy doing. I am also in the process of trying to obtain work experience which means filling out forms, tailoring my CV and sending out cover letters. Next on my list of things to do is provide coverage for the local hustings and work with a group of students on all things election based for the next few months. All of this before I have even mentioned anything to do with assignments. Whilst this workload might be daunting for some people I have a strange sense of excitement attached to the next few months and hope I can make the most of the opportunities available to me.

 

Tonight I am attending hustings at the cap n gown in Worcester and will be hoping to get some content for a story I need for an assignment whilst also seeing if any copy I get can be sent out to local outlets such as the Worcester News or BBC Hereford and Worcester. As with anything in life it is important to be well read on your subject and so I have been trawling the net for information on candidates and party policies. The subject for tonight’s debate is climate change and the environment, something that will be in the minds of many voters as Worcester regularly floods.

I am grateful for being back in Worcester and back with easy Internet access. Getting my head down for the next couple of weeks is a must as my parents get home from a couple of years abroad in early April and I hope to have something tangible to show off to them for my efforts.

Leave a Reply

